I’m Ready for Ya, 2016

Sometime back in November, my brain had started to already believe it was 2016.  I found myself talking to my mom about something that had happened “16 years ago in 2000”, and was surprised when she corrected me.  Instead of writing down the wrong year in January, I had started writing the wrong year in December.  Clearly my brain was ready to take on 2016.

For as long as I can remember, I have made New Year’s Resolutions.  Something in me loves new beginnings and the idea of a clean slate.  It’s one of the things I love about teaching because each year we can start fresh.  In fact, I suppose I make a list of new resolutions twice a year: once in January, again in August as a new school year starts.  I often will look back in my journals to see what my resolutions were from past years.  I really could have just copied and pasted the same list each year and saved myself some time.  I always have high hopes of cooking at home more often, getting more exercise, becoming more organized, keeping a clean house, being more consistent each day with my personal Bible study, and just generally trying to be a better person.  Apparently it is taking longer than a year to achieve, but at least I haven’t given up, right?

Last year, I really tried to create more concrete resolutions.  I wrote down detailed, achievable goals in addition to the new habits I wanted for myself.  One of those resolutions was to finally start my own blog, and here we are.  I have loved having an outlet to write and connect with people, and it has been just one of several writing opportunities I have had over the last several months.  My passion for writing has always been a constant in my life, but has been harder to pursue over the last few years.  So in 2016, I am resolving to write every day.  Every single day.  It’s day 8, and so far this resolution is a success, much more so than my resolution for becoming more organized.  Whether it’s in one of my personal journals, my blog, or a freelance project, I plan on putting words on paper every day this year.  I’m excited to see what I can come up with over the next 12 months.

I’m looking forward to 2016 being spent growing in my career, being involved at my church, pursuing some new hobbies (sewing and Bible journaling!), reading great books, writing, traveling with my husband, and creating new adventures with my crazy boys.  Oh, and cooking all those fancy meals at home too, of course.

 

 

Leave a Reply

